Stop. Look. Remember.

I’ve always had a sense of wonder at the universe and creation. I could fall asleep (and have) gazing at the billions of stars on a clear night.  I could stare at them for hours in complete wonder at the burning balls of gas that twinkle and shine and exist for no purpose other than to point to their creator.  I could watch the sun set on a flat horizon for days, amazed by the splendor of its painter.  I could rest on a beach with my toes in the edge of the water and watch the waves come in with serene ferocity.  I could even stare at the mountains, especially when they are capped with snow, amazed at how they command my attention. In all of it, I am drawn to the Creator God, the God of the Universe, Yahweh.

As I stepped out of the grocery store this morning, my eyes were immediately drawn to the splendor of Pike’s Peak.  It had crisp lines of white snow and then black and brown earth.  It contrasted the brightness of the clear blue sky.  And I paused to just soak it in and thank God for its beauty.  So many times I take this beauty for granted.  I “see” it every day as I’ve lived in this gorgeous city for the last 3 years.  But I don’t always see it.  Sometimes I forget it is even there.  Sometimes I go about my day doing my own thing, and I forget about the beauty of creation around me.  And as I stood there in the grocery store parking lot just pausing to view creation, I was amazed at how it commanded attention, how it screamed, “Look at me! Look at how beautifully I am created! Isn’t my Creator wonderful?” And I thought, how could I forget you were here?

IMG_1154.JPG
This morning’s view from the Mesa Overlook.  Look at that white cap mountain! It was captivating! #NoFilter

In Psalm 78, the writer says this of Israel:

“They forgot what he had done—the great wonders he had shown them, the miracles he did for their ancestors on the plain of Zoan in the land of Egypt… They did not remember his power and how he rescued them from their enemies. They did not remember his miraculous signs in Egypt, his wonders on the plain of Zoan (11-12; 42-43 NLT, emphasis added)

This psalm is historical in nature as the writer is urging his listeners to learn from their past as he recounts the mighty works of God and the forgetful responses of the Israelites. It is so easy to look back and call Israel foolish for how they abandon and forget God, but it is equally easy to fall into the same trap.  How many times do we forget about God just like I forget about the mountains?  How many times do we get wrapped up in church culture and the good Christian checklist that we subconsciously have and forget God? How many times do we get caught up in doing the Christian thing that we forget about the One we are actually supposed to be seeking?  Or how many times do we do our own thing in the craziness of life and forget to even give God attention at all?

Sometimes God is in the routine and the business and you know He is with you, and then all of a sudden, like a beautiful mountain scene commanding your attention, God says, “Look at me! Pause and rest and look at me! Look how I am active in your life!  Look how I love you! I want to be deep and intentional with you today.”

Sometimes God pulls us out of the chaos that squanders our time with Him, pulls us out of the disobedience, out of the cycle of living by the world and says, “Look at me! I am still here!  Why don’t you look to me anymore? Look how I love you!  I long to spend time with you!” He commands out attention.

Don’t forget God.  Don’t forget His miracles.  Don’t forget how He has picked you up and chosen you. Don’t forget how He loves you.  Don’t forget about the miracle of life that He has given you.  Don’t forget how He shows up and has shown up in your life.  Maybe you don’t see Him now, but look for Him, seek Him, and remember who He has always been because that is who He will always be.

Sometimes we have to pause and remember who God is and what He has done.  Sometimes we need to pause and remember to look at the mountain and see the one who created it.  I don’t want to forget God and all He has done, and I am so grateful every time He commands my attention and draws me deeper. God is commanding your attention today and saying, “Pause and look at me! Let me share my heart with you! Remember me!”

 

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

