Love Myself Enough Challenge

Yesterday I wrote blog about something God is stirring in me titled, Loving Myself Enough.  Basically, God is revealing new layers where my identity is broken and my self-image is broken by showing me and teaching me about His love for me.  As He is showing me how He loves me, it is compelling me to show myself more love.  And so I want to challenge myself to Love Myself Enough from day-to-day, and I invite you to join in the challenge.  I will probably post some periodic updates and things God shows me, but this is a challenge done in real-time, not one I did and am posting about at a later date.  I have no idea where this will go.  I just know, God is taking me on a journey to loving Him deeper and thus loving myself deeper.

Love

I won’t bog you down with daily updates of my fitness perspective on the Love Myself Enough Challenge, but it is going to be about more than just fitness. It is loving myself enough to give God control because I know I can’t do it on my own. It is loving myself enough to eat healthy and not over-indulge in the sweet things I love. It is loving myself enough to exercise. It is loving myself enough to read a book instead of watch Netflix. It is loving myself enough to clean my house because I can enjoy it better when it is clean. It is loving myself enough to do what I need to do physically, emotionally, spiritually, and mentally before what I want to do.

Let me be clear. This isn’t a challenge to put myself above anyone, especially not above God. It is simply recognizing that I need to value what God values, which in a nutshell is me, you, and every one of His children. God values my time with Him, so I am going to value my time with Him. God values my body; it is his temple after all, so I must value my body. God values my stewardship, so I should value stewardship. God values my rest, so I should value my rest. God values my marriage, so I should value my marriage.

I can show I value these things by working to invest in them.  So Loving Myself Enough may mean waking up early enough to read the Holy Word of God and listen and commune with God.  Loving Myself Enough may be working out for 30 minutes or 2 hours.  Loving Myself Enough may be eating a salad instead of a cookie.  Loving Myself Enough may be giving yourself a day of rest to do the things I enjoy, like reading, writing, or watching Netflix.  Loving Myself Enough may be turning the phone off for a few hours to give my full attention to my husband, my best friend.

Loving Myself Enough is about finding the balance between rest, health, and God.  It is about not condemning my mistakes, but learning to pick myself up.  It is about shifting my perspective. You find your way, but I am not doing this for you.  I’m doing this for me, but you are welcome to join.

One thought on “Love Myself Enough Challenge

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

