Ducky with an Afro

Being a substitute teacher, sometimes kids will ask me the most random things.  Once during a morning meeting and sharing time, all the kids shared something good that happened or is soon happening to them.  They then asked me what good think I wanted to share.  After some thought, I told them about the poetry writing I have been doing.  After sharing one of my poems, one little girl comes up to me with a big smile and asks, “Can you write a poem about a ducky with an afro?” Well, dear readers, here is what she got.

770ded6dbbbf83b1b8db38f47dbb6a0b

Ducky with an Afro

Ducky with an afro,
you think you’re so fantastic.
Really you are noting
but a crazy hair fanatic.

You have painted your hair blue,
and you have cut it short and stout.
You have made it look all messy,
and gone a year without.

You have braided it with wire
and made it stick straight up.
You have even made it look
like a golden winner’s cup.

You’ve striped it like a rainbow
and striped it like a skunk.
You’ve shaped it like a treetop
and shaped it like a monk.

Ducky with an afro,
you think you’re super cool.
But really,
I gotta tell ya,
you look like a fool.

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

