GPS Reset

The words from John Bevere’s newest book, Good or God?, have echoed in my mind: “It’s one thing to desire, it’s another thing to actually do.” I can’t count the times my prayers have been something along the lines of, “God, I want to be closer to you.  I want to want you more.  I want to live my life for you.” But when I finish my prayer, what do I do about it? Honestly—nothing.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I am not trying to promote legalism, and I am not saying that I am saved by my actions.

I know it is perfectly fine to desire that which you are actively pursuing.  I guess that is the heart of it all.  I have desired more of God all my life but have I actively pursued Him? I’d like to think I have, but I know it hasn’t been consistent. I’m like a sprinter who is out of shape.  I dash forward to actively pursue God, and then I get tired of the rhetoric, of the monotony, of the ritual and “something comes up” that eats that time away.  And I stop to catch my breath.

It is exactly like my workout life, the spiritual matters of life once again having physical implications. I have no endurance. Which makes a whole lot of what I say wishful thinking. I want to run a 5k someday. I want to be healthier. I want to like salads. I want to eat healthy.  I want. I want. I want. But no consistent follow through.

In another section of John Bevere’s book, he compares the journey of life and our walk of faith to that of a GPS. You will always pursue that which your GPS is set on. If your GPS is set to take you to somewhere you do not want to go, you will be disappointed when you “arrive.” He asks of the reader, “What single desire outweighs all others?” If you truly desire something, that is where your GPS will be set to go, and everything you do will be bringing you closer to that goal.

If the last week of my actions was any reflection of my GPS setting, my GPS setting would be set to “Instant Gratification.” I have lazily binge watched Netflix, scrolled through Facebook, and played mindless games on my phone.  I have escaped life for just a moment and I don’t know why. I thought I was going in the right direction a month ago when I was “actively praying and seeking God”, but it didn’t last. I was just sprinting to yet another destination I didn’t want.

Reset. U-turn. Back on the road of John 15.

Dwell in Me, and I will dwell in you. [Live in Me, and I will live in you.] Just as no branch can bear fruit of itself without abiding in (being vitally united to) the vine, neither can you bear fruit unless you abide in Me. I am the Vine; you are the branches. Whoever lives in Me and I in him bears much (abundant) fruit. However, apart from Me [cut off from vital union with Me] you can do nothing.

John 15:4-5 (AMP)

My GPS is set. The destination is wherever Jesus is, wherever the presence of the Holy Spirit is, wherever the Love of the Father is.

God, be Lord of my life; be my direction and my destination. Forever and always, You alone!

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

