Bleepity Bleep Bleep: Sin Issue or Holiness Issue

As a Christian, it is easy for me to get into this cultural surrounding where there is no cussing.  I think it is widely accepted that cussing is bad, even nonbelievers find it crass and unnecessary, but I think there has been an increase in my generation and young people across America who cuss all the time.  The more I am subbing in high school, the more language I hear.  Which is fine, I suppose.  I can’t hold unbelievers to a standard of holiness (Unless of course it is my personal classroom because then I can make it a rule to not cuss in my room.  My room, my rules.) However, when I hear the same cussing student speak about church, it grates my nerves even more, and it takes everything within me to not object.

I get that cussing is cultural. Scrubber in American English could mean either the sponge that I scrub my pans with or a person who is scrubbing the floor.  It means nothing to me.  In Britain, it is a word that should be avoided much like b**** in America.  Cuss words are completely cultural. If I say scrubber and it is culturally fine and isn’t a sin, then it isn’t a sin for a person in Britain.  However, if Jesus grew up in that culture, would you find Him saying that word?  If Jesus was an American today, would He let the culturally unwholesome talk of *insert expletives* or the like come from His mouth?

So, the matter is not if it is sin, but if it is necessary.  As Christians, we need to live our lives set apart and strive to live like Jesus.  Cussing makes us look like the world not like Christ. So, it may not be sin, but we really shouldn’t cuss.

It isn’t pure.

It isn’t lovely.

It isn’t holy.

It isn’t righteous.

As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance, but as he who called you is holy, you also be holy in all your conduct, since it is written, “You shall be holy, for I am holy.” 1 Peter 1:14-16

Strive for peace with everyone, and for the holiness, without which no one will see the Lord. Hebrews 12:14 

God, bring a desire for holiness back to the church, in our speech, our actions, and our lifestyle.

One thought on “Bleepity Bleep Bleep: Sin Issue or Holiness Issue

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

