Desiring Intimacy

It is a new beginning–a new day that dawns a new year.  It is a new chance to make a change.  Every month, every week, and even every day has the same new beginning to say, “Today, I will make the change; I will be the change.” But there is something about today, January 1st that brings out all the desire for change.  And I am going to be a bit cliché for a moment.

To be perfectly honest, what I am about to say, isn’t so much a year’s resolution, but a life resolution.  I could add to this post the desire to make healthy choices and to live a healthy lifestyle.  I could add that I want to work on being debt free, cutting out some lazy habits, or even read more.  I could say so many things of how I want to better myself, of how I want to look back in a year and see that I have made some serious changes.  That would all be true–it doesn’t feel like 2014 has much to show for itself in any of this department. If anything, I think I developed some worse habits, but that is not what this post is going to be about.

It is about my new life verse, my new mantra so to speak.  It is the thing that everything revolves around.  It is the thing that matters most.  If I were to die this year, I would want people to say this is how I lived, which means it is how I need to live now.  I want to live with greater intimacy with God. I want to live in a close mutual fellowship, companionship, friendship with my Lord and Savior and Holy Spirit.

As David said to his son:

“Learn to know the God of your ancestors intimately.  Worship and serve him with your whole heart and a willing mind.  For the Lord sees every heart and knows every plan and thought.  If you seek him, you will find him.  But if you forsake him, he will reject you forever.” (1 Chronicles 28:9 NLT)

So, I declare that this year I will…

1. Learn to know God MORE intimately.
2. Worship and Serve Him with all my heart, soul, and mind.
3. Seek Him daily.
4. Pray for my loved ones to do the same.

I may fall, but each day is a new day, and I will run the race.  I desire intimacy with my King, my Lord, my Holy Spirit God, my Friend.

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

