Blessings in Window Benches

I must admit I have not read as much this year as I had hoped.  I suppose I have to build more of a habit of reading now, especially to get through those good but less compelling books than fiction.  I have tried to read more christian living and nonfiction.  I plow right through a good novel, but I struggle through almost anything else.  However, perhaps that will all change now.

As a little girl, I always thought it would be awesome to have my own little place–a tree house, a private place on the roof, a beach cove, or a window bench.  I would watch movies like Ice Princess where the girl sits with her knees up in a cozy little spot by the window.  And I would think, “Someday, I want to have a cozy little bench seat in my window just like that.  Then, I will sit and read and do my devotions. It will be my own little space.”  I finally have that space.

IMG_1737

Today was the first day it was all set up! I have the blankets down as padding and will eventually change it out for an oversized pillow.  I just want to sit there and soak in the presence of God.  I almost don’t even want to read, just bask in the presence of the one who has so richly blessed me, my Father, my Savior, my Loving Lord, my Jesus.  I love when God showers us with the little things we dreamed about just because He loves us!

What has God blessed you with lately just because He can?  Where is your personal go-to place?

2014 October Blog Button

2 thoughts on “Blessings in Window Benches

  1. I have found that when it comes to nonfiction it depends 100% on the particular book whether I can enjoy it or not. I have read some this past year that I read as fast and enjoyed as much as fiction. It’s all about finding the right book. 🙂

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

