Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus by Nabeel Qureshi

Seeking Allah, Finding JesusSeeking Allah, Finding Jesus: A Devout Muslim Encounters Christianity by Nabeel Qureshi is an outstanding book! It made me laugh, made me cry, and made me think.  Nabeel tells his story beautifully about growing up Muslim and learning to love and honor Allah.  He explains Islam with such finesse that it is easy to follow and easy to see the world through his Islamic lenses. But the book is more than just his learning about Islam, it is his wrestle with Islam and Christianity as he gets into college.

I finally picked up the book a week ago.  It was such a compelling book, that I had no problem finishing it quickly! Nabeel’s explanations of Islamic terms, with the glossary in the back even, made it easy to follow along as he described different aspects of his culture that were shaped by his Muslim heritage.  I found myself laughing at times, but also crying by the end.  It challenged everything I knew about Islam.  It helps break down the stereotypical barriers! I also found myself rejoicing in the end as Nabeel finally sees the truth of Christianity and the lies of Islam.

From Nabeel’s story, there were a couple nuggets of wisdom that I would like to share.  When Nabeel starts talking about meeting David, the college friend that begins discussing Christianity and Islam apologetically with him, he makes a powerful blanket statement about evangelism: “Effective evangelism requires relationships.  There are very few exceptions.” (p. 120) I love that! It is so true because as a fellow friend in Christ once said to me, “If you gain their trust, you gain the right to their soul.” I have never forgotten that.  Relationships matter!!

The last nugget I wish to share was right at the end of the book.  As Nabeel explains this revelation about living for God after telling his parents about his conversion, he makes a wonderful summative statement of what it means to be a Christian. He says, “Now I knew what it meant to follow God. It meant walking boldly by His Spirit of grace and love, in the firm confidence of everlasting life given through the Son, with eternal purpose of proclaiming and glorifying the Father.” He is exactly right, and so we should do likewise!

Overall, I give it a 5-star rating!

You can buy it on Amazon here.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers <http://booklookbloggers.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

