Growing in Intimacy

My greatest desire for this year is to grow in deeper intimacy with Jesus, in my worship, devotion, and life, physically, spiritually, emotionally, and mentally.  I want Jesus to invade the very fiber of my being.  I was challenged right around the new year to find a verse as an anthem for this year.  John 15:5 is one that sticks out to me because Jesus calls us to intimately follow Him.

Yes, I am the vine; you are the branches.  Those who remain in me, and I in them, will produce much fruit.  For apart from me you can do nothing… I have loved you even as the Father has loved me.  Remain in my love. When you obey my commandments, you remain in my love, mast as I obey my Father’s commandments and remain in his love. (John 15:5; 9-10 NLT)

In this desire to grow in intimacy with God, I had also come across something in my Jesus Calling book that stood out to me.  Jesus Calling is a daily devotional book that is written as if Jesus is inviting the reader into His peaceful presence. It said this:

When you thank Me for the many pleasures I provide, you affirm that I am God, from whom all blessings flow.  When adversity strikes and you thank Me anyway, your trust i My sovereignty is a showpiece in invisible realms.  Fill up the spare moments of your life with praise and thanksgiving. The joyous discipline will help you live in the intimacy of My presence. (Jesus Calling by Sarah Young, Jan. 07 emphasis added)

The keys to growing in intimacy with God is worship, thanksgiving, and obedient love.  Intertwined in all that is much more trust, prayer, and steadfast seeking, but at the heart, there must be a spirit of worship, thanksgiving, and obedient love.  This is one reason that I have felt compelled to start naming at least one thing I am thankful to God for every day. (You can find my working list here).  It is also why when I was prophesied over at a prayer meeting yesterday, it really hit home.

The prophesy, the word of encouragement over me, recognized a warrior spirit of worship in me.  I have always been a worshiper; music has been crucial in my life. Last year, as I struggled with my faith because of my hearing, I felt the war for my worship.  Now, that warrior in me that will never give up is solidified deeper than ever before.  It is why when I read One Light Still Shines by Marie Monville, worship was a major theme that stuck out to me.  Worship is power because it brings heaven to earth, so also thanksgiving is power because it brings us to the foot of Jesus.

God, may this year truly be a year of deeper worship, deeper gratitude, and deeper love as I intentionally seek you in all I do!!

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

