Irrigating Deserts

Desert-Oasis-Wallpaper-

“The task of the modern educator is not to cut down jungles, but to irrigate deserts.” by C.S. Lewis is the new addition to my list of favorite quotes.  I discovered this gem while trying to find a quote for my new clipboard.  All the elementary education majors were given a clipboard to decorate for our classrooms, and being the inspiring quote seeker I am, I wanted one for it.   It has marinated ever since.  When I first read it, I thought Ooh, that’s good! And as it rolls around in my brain, it gains flavor.

I love to write, hopefully my blog shows it.  I have known for about 10 months now that teaching writing would be my top choice. I want to be a teacher that inspires and challenges her kids to make their words the medium to their own beautiful canvases of life, whether in their speech or their written word.  What better way to do that then to encourage them to write to the best of their ability?

We have done a couple different writing projects in my student teaching. We currently are doing a Santa project where they write a Christmas story that is attached to a Santa head as if it is the beard.  I gave them a choice of three Christmas related prompts and asked them to simply tell a story.  I love reading their work.  Most of them have great ideas and expression, at least for a 3rd grader.  No matter how much I enjoy the process, there is one thing that is hard.  I don’t hate it, but it is extremely difficult: grading.

Back of my clipboard
Front of my clipboard
I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

