Fly

soaring-eagle-ray-downing

Flying is the one super power I have always wished I had.  I used to sit in the swing for all of my recess while the rest of the kids were off playing with their friends.  There was a part of me that wanted to be rescued from my swing with a friend who wanted to play, but mostly I was flying.  I was getting as high as I possibly could and imagining as it lifted into the trees that I was flying away.  My life wasn’t anything horrible, but I always wanted to be somewhere.  I have always wanted to soar to the unknown places, to the corners of the world.  There has never been a dream that hasn’t included going far away from the comfort of the known.

When I first took a trip without my family my junior year of high school, I was most excited about the flight.  I finally got to see the world from the clouds.  When I graduated from high school, I took it as my long awaited chance to pick up my wings and fly.  I was naive and independent. It was amazing how after that I wanted to fly right back.  Never to stay, but always to see my family.

Sure, flying has its perks.  I get to see the world and experience all that life offers, but it also can take you away from things that are good and perfectly wonderful.  It is a risk one has to take at times.  As for me, if I was given the choice, I would always fly.

I am graduating again, this time with a few more roots.  Sure, I still have a connection to my old home, a bond that is unbreakable, but I have a new family now.  And as I approach the sought degree, as I step up to the launch pad, I feel like I am about to soar, with my husband, into the great God only knows! It feels great to fly!

One of my favorite movies ends with a song called “Ride of Your Life.”  The chorus goes like this: “Come on; here’s your chance. Don’t let it slip right through your hands. Are you ready for the ride of your life? Your dreams are riding on the wind; just reach out and pull them in. Get ready for the ride of your life.” That is about how I feel.  I feel like I am on the launching pad to the dreams I have always dreamed.  I’m about to graduate, and rather than feeling afraid, I feel like I am about to fly into the ride of my life.  Bring it on!

I pretty much broke all the rules in this Five Minute Friday post.  I wrote it yesterday (Friday), but failed to post it.  Yesterday when I wrote it, I took a little more than 5 minutes (more like 10), and I edited it this morning a bit. So rather than this being an official Five Minute Friday, it is just “inspired” by Five Minute Friday, a weekly link-up where bloggers can let loose and “silence the critic within” to just write. This week’s word was… Fly. 

Five Minute Friday

One thought on “Fly

  1. I CAN RELATE TO YOUR WRITING IN A SMALL MANNER…..I JUST FINISHED A “FLIGHT” TO SEE MY NEW GRANDSON BEING BORN AND TO CUT HIS CORD WAS QUITE AN EXPERIENCE….ONE I HAD NOT EXPLORED BEFORE. MY DAUGHTER NEEDED ME AND I WAS GLAD I COULD “FLY” TO HER…AND THE GREATEST FLIGHT I AM GOING TO TAKE SOMEDAY IS “HOME” TO BE WITH OUR LORD……..WOOPEE…..SEE YA THERE. THANKS FOR YOUR BLOGGING ..I ENJOY THE TALENT GOD HAS GIVEN YOU….NOT ALL OF US HAVE IT BUT HE HAS GIVEN US THE TALENT THAT IS FIT FOR EACH OF US…LOV MARY

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

