A Gasp of Air and Blessing

Storm at Sea

Sometimes life throws so many struggles into your face or all around you that you feel like you are drowning in a raging tidal wave.  Sickness, poverty, and pain seem to be at every corner of your mind whether for yourself or loved ones.  And sometimes it feels like you are in the middle of the raging ocean fighting for your last breath as the weight of it all drags you down… down… down.

Then suddenly, like a ray of light through the darkened storm, a prayer is answered and it is like you have plunged from the water in a desperate gasp for air.  Suddenly, though you are still in the middle of it all, you can breathe.  And that one answered prayer serves hope to the rest that my God is Lord over EVERY storm.  And maybe, just maybe, His grace really is enough.

I am thankful for God’s grace and blessings.  Do I still feel surrounded by God-sized problems that need God-sized interventions? Yes, but when God showers healing and blessing, those problems begin to scale down in light of my God!

This week I received a bill from my doctor’s office that is supposed to do my last ear surgery in November.  It was the same as our rent, and it said it had to be paid in full 72 hours before my surgery.  I knew we didn’t have that kind of money.  I surprisingly didn’t worry.  Until I talked to them, I figured there was no need.  Well, I never got around to talking to them because of their hours and it turns out I didn’t need to.  God had already lined things up to take care of it.  We had this month’s rent set aside to pay, but it turns out somebody already did.  A mysterious envelope showed up at our landlady’s office with $500 marked to pay our rent.  She doesn’t even know who dropped it by.  It is a total blessing in our time of need!

God is good!  I know that life can become drowning at times, but God is in control.  What confidence I have in My God because of his abundant faithfulness!! There are other blessings God has shown me, but I will just leave you with this: God is able!

One thought on “A Gasp of Air and Blessing

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

