God in Slow Motion by Mike Nappa

God In Slow Motion CoverLet’s take a minute before I get to my review to recognize the start of something wonderful.  I have finally started a Christian living book and FINISHED it! Yes, folks, this lover of reading has never been able to finish a nonfiction non-school related book until now.  Before now, literature was the only thing that seemed to be able to compel me to constantly pick the book up.  It isn’t that I don’t enjoy other books, but once I put it down I usually forget about it.  God in Slow Motion took me longer to read than I had hoped in part because of this same problem.  I would stop reading a chapter and then just forget to pick it up for a week or more.  It definitely helped me to have the looming pressure to write a review for it, not because it was bad, but because of the genre.

Mike Nappa did a wonderful job with God in Slow Motion, a book that takes ten familiar stories of Jesus,  shines a light on them from a new angle, and then illuminates a truth into it’s readers lives.  It is easy to read and follow, it has a great structure and organization, and it is full of fresh perspectives on well-known stories of Jesus.  I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is bored with the gospels, as can be easy for anyone who has grown up and around the stories of Christ.

Mr. Nappa had a way of eloquently expounding on his points with stories that made each chapter easy to read and easy to understand while also uncovering unexpected truths.  There were times I felt convicted and other times I felt challenged in my faith.  It was a highlighter-in-hand book full of pearls of wisdom! I was especially challenged by the chapter “Tattered Faith,” to the point that I had to write a brief blog about it.  I have struggled with a tattered faith and I found it as I said, both challenging and convicting.

I will leave you with this quote that I think most of humanity can relate with from the chapter “Frightening Wonder” about the time Jesus commanded the wind and the waves to be still:

“Maybe this life just hurts.  Oh, not every day, but enough days to notice–and remember.  And maybe you can’t help but wonder sometimes why God is absent from your pain or oblivious to the clear and present danger you face.  You might never admit it out loud, but it feels as though God has fallen asleep on you, or worse, that he’s stopped paying attention to your troubles. … Take heart, friend.  Your Savior is not helpless, nor is he absent or sleeping or inattentive to your out-of-control world.  This is fact, regardless of your feelings.”

You can buy the book here.

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

