I Was Made for This!

I have officially completed my first week of student teaching! I LOVE IT!!! I won’t give you a play-by-play, but I am the luckiest girl in the world.  I started teaching one lesson a day on Wednesday.  I cried at the end of it.  I was so frazzled! I didn’t know what to say.  The kids were either not paying attention or not getting it, maybe a little of both.  I was trying to get through the material and it just felt like a total flop! After it was all over, I broke.  I told my cooperating teacher, “You make it look a whole lot easier than it is!”  So, props to all teachers out there who eloquently teach and interact with kids, scaffold their understanding and target each child in a whole class setting; to every teacher who juggles lesson plans, cranky kids, complaints, outbursts, and altogether rowdiness with finesse, you’re awesome!

By the next day, my goal was to take it slow, keep their attention, and be thorough.  I think they got it! I don’t really know yet. My first evaluation is Friday.  I am hoping to be teaching two classes by then.  It takes a lot of work, BUT it is the best work of my life.  You know how you are told to find something you love to do and to do that because then you will never work a day in your life? That is exactly how I feel.  God birthed teaching in my heart from a very young age, and it is for a very obvious reason to me.  I was made to love kids and to teach them.  I realize I am only teaching one class a day and slowly gaining responsibility, but I think I will feel the same way when I get to my full day teaching.  I am blessed!

The more I teach, the more confident I become that I totally have this!  I can teach! I can lesson plan! God has called me and He is faithful to equip!  I know that when this semester is over and God faithfully opens the door to teach everyday all day five days a week, I will be ready to walk through that door.  I am excited for what lies ahead.  You are an awesome God and you know me better than I know myself!

One thought on “I Was Made for This!

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

