Top 10 Modern Adaptations into Movies

I have determined that the best movies are the creative modernized versions of classic tales, movies, or literature. They are always my favorite.  Here is a top 10 list:

1. What a Girl Wants–The Reluctant Debutante

2. Sydney White–Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs

3. She’s the Man–Twelfth Night

4. Ever After–Cinderella

5. Gnomeo & Juliet–Romeo & Juliet

6. You’ve Got Mail–The Shop Around the Corner

7. 10 Things I Hate About You–Taming of the Shrew

8. Kiss Me Kate–Taming of the Shrew

9. Bride & Prejudice–Pride & Prejudice

10.  The Lion King–Hamlet (So I have heard. I haven’t actually read Hamlet, but either way the Lion King is awesome!)

Now there are many other important factors in labeling a movie as “good.”  For me, I like a movie that makes me feel good after I watch it, whether because it is wholesome or because it puts you in the clouds. I am a hopeless romantic, so I love romantic movies, but it can be dangerous.  I don’t like movies with sex scenes or over used language, especially the F word.  Call me crazy, but I love a predictable movie where the unlikely guy gets the girl in the end.  I like movies that I can suggest to anyone with a clean conscience.  I like to laugh, maybe cry, and smile as the movie ends.  I like a movie worthy of quoting.

I also like action movies like Hunger Games, Lord of the Rings, and The Avengers. Wait, those are also literary references.  What can I say? I love adaptations (as a general rule).

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

