Worship and A Dream

I had a powerful dream last night. There was a large group of people going to a place.  We would meet every day in a building, and while there, meet people who had this oppressive power.  If they touched us in any way, we became like them, unable to control ourselves.  It wasn’t like we became zombies, but it was like we were not our own.  In my dream, I decided to start worshiping. I worshiped and prayed in the Spirit all day long.  When the oppressed people came, they had no influence on me, even when they tried.  There was a moment where I could feel the oppression and it was trying to take my voice, but I just started singing the first few words of worship I could think of, “Holiness, holiness, is what I long for.  Holiness is what I need. Holiness, holiness is what you want from me.” The more I sang, the more I became free and the easier it became to sing. Finally, they had to let go of me.  The next day I applied the same principle.  When I was approached by a child with this disease like oppression, I began to sing “Jesus Loves Me” at the top of my lungs.  I then told a room full of people about Jesus.  The oppression tried to stop me and take over my tongue, but I concentrated on God, and the message and it came out.  Then freedom broke out in the room and people returned to “normal” as we all worshiped the Lord.

As I started waking up, I remembered my journal entry yesterday where I was just feeling weak and questioning, battling, why I should continue worshiping.

“God, why does my worship feel so superficial? Why do I feel like I am just going through the motions of the “right” things to say? I feel like I am writing to the wind.  My worship feels shallow.  So, right now, I give You the sacrifice of praise.  I refuse to give in to the voice of lies that says, “Why continue then?” I will press on and praise You because You are still the worthy God.”

Suddenly, I knew that my dream was directly correlated to that journal entry and it was as if God, for the first time, was giving me a clear message through my dream.

Daily, we are given the choice to worship or not, just like daily we went out to these oppressed people in my dream. One choice of worship was not enough, for we were all believers when we started out. The oppression could be the weight of life, a hole in your faith from God “failing” your expectations, or just a false reliance on your feelings.  If we choose to forgo worship and calling out to God, then we yield our tongue to the oppression and we are frozen from our ability to worship freely.

So it became so clear. Why should I worship? There is power in worship to set people free, to set myself free.  There is healing and empowerment to live according to the word.  Set aside the fact that God is worthy of worship, that He is the God who sits in the high seat of heaven and holds all knowledge, especially the knowledge I lack.  Set aside the reason to worship God for all He is for us, our Provider, Healer, Freedom, Victory, Peace, or all He has for us, grace, mercy, forgiveness, love, blessings. We worship because it benefits ourselves.  Worship is for God, but without it we are nothing, we have nothing. Whatever you do, do not let the enemy steal your worship.

I am reminded of Louie Giglio’s sermon series, “Worship: That Thing We Do.” In it, he makes the point that perhaps there is a war going on for our worship.  My dream confirmed that to me.  It is a daily, moment by moment choice, to refuse to let the enemy take away your ability to worship.  The beautiful thing is that even if you don’t feel like worshiping, if you press in there is freedom and breakthrough.  Therefore, Worship the King!

 

Psalm 96

   Sing to the Lord a new song;
sing to the Lord, all the earth.
Sing to the Lord, praise his name;
proclaim his salvation day after day.
Declare his glory among the nations,
his marvelous deeds among all peoples.

For great is the Lord and most worthy of praise;
he is to be feared above all gods.
For all the gods of the nations are idols,
but the Lord made the heavens.
Splendor and majesty are before him;
strength and glory are in his sanctuary.

Ascribe to the Lord, all you families of nations,
ascribe to the Lord glory and strength.
Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name;
bring an offering and come into his courts.
Worship the Lord in the splendor of his[a] holiness;
tremble before him, all the earth.
10 Say among the nations, “The Lord reigns.”
The world is firmly established, it cannot be moved;
he will judge the peoples with equity.

11 Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad;
let the sea resound, and all that is in it.
12 Let the fields be jubilant, and everything in them;
let all the trees of the forest sing for joy.
13 Let all creation rejoice before the Lord, for he comes,
he comes to judge the earth.
He will judge the world in righteousness
and the peoples in his faithfulness.

One thought on “Worship and A Dream

  1. No idea why I didnt subscribe to this before! I love the perspective God is giving you about worship. Ive been asking Him about prayer myself some lately. Thank you for sharing your insight friend. SO encouraging!

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

