Enoch

I am attempting to be obedient to something God told me weeks ago.  To stop and reflect on each day.  I have a lot to do before today is “over,” but I know I need to do it now instead of later.

I have a tendency to over complicate things.  Even now, I have a homework assignment that I have worked on all night and I know I am over complicating it.  I just feel stuck at times.  I think that is kinda how my faith and walk with God feels now.  I feel stuck between what I want and what I do.  I feel stuck in this rut of old self mentalities.  I don’t know how to get out of the patterns and build healthy habits.  Perhaps I am over complicating it.

Enoch was a pillar of faith mentioned in Hebrews.  He is mentioned very little and is known mostly for Gen. 5 where it says, “Enoch lived 365 years, walking in close fellowship with God.  Then one day he disappeared, because God took him.”

Being the inquirer that I am, I thought, “What was Enoch’s secret? I wish there was more in the Bible about Him so I knew just HOW he did it.”

God included everything that was necessary though.  There was nothing fancy.  No special formula for what is the right amount of time to spend with God.  There were no “input this to get this.”  Enoch  walked in fellowship with God.  No bells and whistles here.

I over complicate things.  God isn’t asking me to be perfect; I’m the one doing that to myself.  God is just calling me, drawing me to fellowship with him.  The thing is that if we are truly in fellowship with God, he is communicating with us.  He is showing us where we need to grow.  He is showing us how to love more.  All of scripture comes to this focal point of God just wanting to have fellowship with me.   I would dare say that even the two commandments Jesus lays out flow out of fellowship with God.

I hope, at the end of my life, people too can say of me, “She walked in fellowship with the Lord.”  Not just she loved the Lord, but she walked in fellowship because to walk in fellowship means so much more than love.

God, I want your fellowship!  I want your guidance and instruction in my life.  I want your love and encouragement.  I want to walk in your Spirit and be a light for you, but I can only have those things by being in fellowship with you.

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

