Tick-tock

Tick-tock
around the clock–
You need a friend;
I am there.
You need a shoulder;
Mine is there.
You need an ear;
Mine is there.
Where is mine?
Life continues.
Tick-tock
around the clock–
the pain is pushed down
until it seems to be gone,
then I go on.

Tick-tock
around the clock–
You need a worker;
I am there.
You need a server;
I am there.
Life carries me away,
but there you stay.
Ignore my text.
Ignore my call.
Life continues.
Tick-tock
around the clock–
the pain is pushed down
until it seems to be gone,
then I move on.

Tick-tock
around the clock–
time and time again,
the same story
the same end
I am there
you are not, but
Tick-tock
around the clock–
Life continues.
Things change.
People change.
You change.
Now I change.

Tick-tock
around the clock–
through pain
through sorrow
there is only one
who holds my tomorrow.
To Him I will trust
my breaking heart.
In him there is hope
of a brand new start.
Tick-tock
around the clock.

It may be pretty self-explanatory, but I would hate my faithful readers, as few as I know they are, to be worried about me.  I have just realized recently how hurt I have been by some of the people I thought were closest to me.  This is me admitting it, choosing not to bury it, and trying to give it to God.  I know he is the only one who can take the pain and help me move past it. My heart is heavy about the changes this is causing, but as this poem says, life continues.  I cannot stop and change what has happened, but I can change my response.  So I choose to forgive them and move on. The process is slow, but I am trusting God with my heart.  “That’s all I have to say about that.” (In a Forest Gump voice).

P.S. This is obviously not being posted on Facebook!

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

