Thanksgiving 24/7-365

Lately as I see people posting 30 days of thanks, I have felt challenged by God.  So many times we treat the month of thanksgiving like the only time to give thanks and the other 335 days as a time to complain and ask God for things.  I mean look at Black Friday.  There are some that indeed go shopping for the thrill and joy of a fairly good deal and who enjoy laughing at the weirdos who go nutso. I am one of those, but there seems to be a majority of “nutsos” who are acting as if life would end if they didn’t get that Barbie, that computer, or that blue ray player.  I have seen pictures commenting on the irony of this.  We spend an entire month giving thanks to God and others, to turn around and be the most materialistic and selfish we have been all year.

I truly believe that gratitude changes things. It can change your attitude or even your situation.  I believe God will pour out more blessings on those who give thanks and praise to God for it! My challenge to you and myself is to make Thanksgiving a celebration 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 times a year (+ Leap Day)!

It isn’t as if God is only good that month up until Thanksgiving.  It isn’t like God only blesses us one out of 12 months of the year.  God is good regardless of the holiday.  His goodness has no bounds! I read a quote by C.S Lewis today that said, “We ought to give thanks for all fortune: if it is good, because it is good, if bad, because it works in us patience, humility and the contempt of this world and the hope of our eternal country.”  Thanksgiving should be an attitude we live by daily and the holiday should just be the feasting celebration!  I vow to do as Job did and say, “[When] the Lord gives and the Lord has taken away, may the name of the Lord be praised.” (Job 1:21) So here is to a one year project of finding something to be thankful for 24/7-365.

Day 1: I am thankful for an infinite God who has infinite grace, infinite love, infinite resources, infinite power and who deserves infinite praise!

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

