Trusted Refuge

Psalm 91

Rather than put the entire thing, I urge you to read it.  For some reason, it really struck a chord in me today.  I have heard this many times. There are parts that are familiar worship songs.  I just can’t get the first two verses out of mind tough:

He who dwells in the shelter of the
Most High
will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.
I will say of the Lord, “He is my
refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

Is it the truth of this verse that you have to dwell in God to find such peace and rest that resonates? I know I don’t do this enough. The times I should the most, are the times I tend to avoid it. Many times, I do it without even thinking. I want to break that cycle and I am trying to overcome it.  I have given into my will far too long and I need to exercise my faith a little more.  So I sit here with a thousand and one things I need to do in the physical, but it is ok.  I am thankful that I serve a God who is my shelter, my peace, my rest.  His yoke is easy and His burden is light.  He welcomes me with open arms, business and all.

Or maybe it is the end that resonates so much?  “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”  In my coming and going on my time, do I regard God as my refuge? Do I run to God when things are beyond what I can handle? Is that not what a refuge is, a safe place to go to when things are too horrible for you?  Yet I avoid it.  If I avoid it so much, could it be that I really don’t trust that God will give me the strength I need to do my homework and other craziness? I profess that I trust Him, but perhaps my consistent failure to run to Him is reflecting my greater trust in myself, which is more like sinking sand.

So I declare, dear self-will, trust in God! He has promised to be your strength. He has promised to guide you.  He has promised to carry you through.  He has called you for more than you are living, so trust Him! Trust Him with all of your being!

The Lord IS  my refuge, a place I can always run to, my escape from the dangers of this world and the traps that snare me.  The Lord IS my fortress, a firmly established strong tower, a place that stands when my world is crumbling. I WILL trust in Him, the one and only faithful God who is all that I need, who is love, grace, peace, rest, comfort, strength, and who is mine.  Bless the Lord, O my soul! For there is no one more worthy than Him!

Strong Tower by Newsboys

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

