A Mary Legacy

I was reading in Luke today and part of that passage was the story of Mary and Martha. In it, Martha is busy and distracted by everything that needs to be done around her.  She finally asks Jesus to tell Mary, who was sitting at his feet absorbing in every word he spoke, to come help her. Jesus simply says, “You are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

As I read this passage, I was slightly convicted. I had become like Martha again. Note: I said again. This isn’t the first time I have become worried and overwhelmed with life. This isn’t the first time that I have found myself caught in the middle of chaos wanting to be able to also sit at Jesus feet but feeling like I can’t because I have too much to do.  I am a Martha.  It isn’t completely bad.  There is a balance. The world would not run quite right if there were not Martha people who were always making sure things were accomplished. The problem is when we think that all the other things are actually more important than our time with God. When we think we can’t sit and talk to Jesus, that is the issue.  We have to learn to have the heart of Mary in the midst of a Martha world.

While this thought was a fresh challenge and reminder to seek God whole heartily and not let my business distract me from God, it also was a reminder of one of the greatest ‘Mary’s’ in my life. Today marks the third year since my grandmother passed away. I miss her terribly. I cherish her and the life she lived.  When I look into my life, I see aspects which reflect my grandmother, for she left a powerful legacy.

Grandma was a woman of love and compassion. She was proverbs thirty-one with the heart of Mary and the ability to get things done like Martha. She loved the Lord with all her heart until her last breath. I see in my life the same kind of love and compassion.  I see the same desire to go to new places and to share the love of God. I think it is one of the many ways that she has been an impact on my life. I pray that I become a proverbs thirty-one woman like her and that God gives me an even greater heart of Mary. May I always make time to sit at the feet of my Lord, my Savior, my God!

Rather than go on and on about the life Grandma lived, I celebrate the future. I will see her in heaven! I am thankful for the wonderful woman she was and the influence she will forever have in my life.  I may long to play a game of liver pool with her, which I would probably lose and she would undoubtedly win because of that luck she pulls from the air. I may long to see her smile, hear her laugh, and hug her, but still, no matter the years that pass by, I will always keep her close through the memories and the Mary legacy that is etched on my heart and, prayerfully, my life.

One thought on “A Mary Legacy

  1. Yes, she was a wonderful women and a great example. It seems to have been a harder time today than I anticipated. I am truly missing my mama today. I pray I can be half the women she is was. My heart is and was blessed to have had such a wonderful mom. She was a godly example of submission, love, compassion, joy. giving and loving some more. Mom, I miss you!
    Thanks for the blog Megan. Love you!

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

