Partial Obedience

Incomplete obedience is still disobedience. In 1 Samuel 15, there is the account of Saul’s last fall out as king before God removed his blessing.  In this scenario, God commands Saul to completely annihilate the Amalekites.  Saul obeys by going out and waging war against them, BUT he doesn’t completely destroy everything.  He is selective and spares all the good animals and even King Agag. His obedience was only partial.  It even had fair intentions to sacrifice the plunder, but God desires obedience more than sacrifice.  Saul’s incomplete obedience was disgusting to God.  (Let me preface what I am about to say with this: I don’t think God is saying that I am out of chances)

God used somebody in my life to open my eyes tonight. Could I have done the same thing? Did I obey partially or fully? Now I am left here analyzing and praying and trying to figure out how to fix what has been done so that I am being obedient again.  There is no such thing as partial obedience. Without even realizing it, I had begun down a similar path as before.  I am thankful for this person giving me this rebuke.

God, help me to walk it out. I want to be completely obedient and in your will.

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

