Giants Will Fall

Giants: they invoke fear (unless of course they are like Fezzik, a strong rhymer from Greenland). There are examples within scripture. Of course the obvious is David and Goliath. The entire army was shaking with fear in their armor at the thought of fighting Goliath.  Or what about the Israelites.  Twelve spies are sent into the promised land and they come back to report big giants which again made the Israelites scared.

It seems we have two choices. One.  We can cower in fear, sometimes to the point of rebelling against God. (I wouldn’t recommend it) Two. We can look to God.  The fact remains that giants are still pip-squeaks in comparison to my great and mighty God. God even told the Israelites, “Do not be terrified; do not be afraid of them.  The Lord your God, who is going before you, will fight for you.” (Deuteronomy 1:29) If that isn’t enough to motivate the Israelites, you would think that at least God’s track record would help.  He saved them from the Egyptians at the Red Sea. He provided manna in the wilderness. He gave them favor and brought them all the way to where they were, standing at the face of God’s plan, God’s abundant blessing.  All they had to do was take a step forward. “In spite of this, [they] did not trust in the Lord…” (Deuteronomy 1:32)

Wow! So Here I am reading this and seeing how much this translates into the modern world. Time and time again, people are called to a vocation or ministry.  They go through school, and they get too scared to apply to the areas they studied or maybe a door didn’t open up right away.  And they just give up.  Or maybe they are walking in the will of God, but they burn out, and they just give up. They let the Giant scare them out of the blessings of God.  Sure God can still bless them and will still provide for them, but there was so much more.  Just like the Israelites were cared for in their 40 years of wandering, but they could have had the promised land.

Or maybe it can relate to me, a senior in college.  I know God has called me to do things beyond myself that only he can carry out.  He is daily equipping me, fighting for me, walking with me through every trial.  Soon, I will be faced with the opportunity to apply for jobs that line up with what God has called me to do.  It scares me.  It feels like I am just moments away from facing my giant.  For me, the Israelites serve as a warning.  I could finish school, apply for only a few positions, but retreat to my hometown where it is “safe.” There is even a backup job.

But God did not call me to live in the backup plan!! I must, even now, trust God.  He has always led the way before.  He has always fought for me.  He has always been with me, equipped me, strengthened me.  So, I will make the step when God says, because I know he will be with me.  Giants will fall when he is making a way for me.

I love hearing people's responses. Post below...

